North Carolina legislations often focus on the welfare and safety of NC’s young people, as again exhibited via a new legislation passed by the state Congress. In January 2020, a bill called Economics and Financial Literacy Act mandated the teaching of financial literacy among NC high school students. When several years ago teen driving became the leading cause of teenage deaths, the NC state legislature passed several Teen Driving Laws to address the problem.
About North Carolina’s Economics and Financial Literacy Act
North Carolina’s Economics and Financial Literacy Act, made financial literacy an important part of high school education, starting at freshman level. The law made Economics and Personal Finance part of public high school curriculum. The legislation mandates the successful completion of the finance course, as a critical requisite to qualify for public high school graduation.
This in light of the fact that the global society has advanced with digital and automated technologies, while many of NC’s high school students are already making online purchases. In some cases, many teenagers in North Carolina are also engaging in online activities that enable them to earn revenues at an early age.
The new Economics and Personal Finance course will take up important financial matters such as financing for college education, credit scores, credit card management and “the true cost of credit” Topics will also delve into the mechanics of home mortgages and car loans, which we presume include discussions about home and automobile insurance coverages.
About North Carolina’s Teen Driving Laws
North Carolina’s teen driving laws have gone through a lot of changes over the years. Mainly because they have been frequently revisited and reviewed by the state legislature to further improve the measures that will ensure teen driving safety in line with the changing times.
Sttatistically, car accidents became the leading cause of death among NC teeangers, while most of those who survived, suffered catastrophic injuries. Apparently, statutory laws against DUI and texting while driving were not enough yet legislators kept faith that North Carolina’s teeangers can become safe drivers through proper education and practice.
In NC, teenagers who are at least 16 years old have to undergo graduated licensing permits. They must first and foremost pass a driver education course administered by the state DMV. As driver’s with limited permits, they must always be accompanied by a supervising adult when driving. Moreover, during a specific period of time, teen drivers are allowed to take the wheel between 5:00 a.m. and 9:OO p.m. only, as well as not have any passenger occupying the front seat.
Those who pass the graduated levels through testing conducted by the DMV at each stage, will reach the final provisional level. At this level, a person who is at least 16 years old, without any record of committing any DMV violation, will be granted full driving privilege of driving at any hour, and without a supervising adult as passenger.
In North Carolina, parents do not need to add a driving-supervised teenager to their car insurance policy. Still it would be best to notify one’s insurance provider about a teen driver’s occasional driving of your car while learning how to drive safely and responsibly.
Now if your teenage son or daughter is able to receive full driving privileges after successfully passing all levels, a cheaper alternative to adding your child to your policy is to get him or her a Non-Owners Insurance as coverage when driving your car on his or her own.
Also, when looking for the most affordable non-owner’s policy, consider the offers of Non Owners Insurance NC – North Carolina cheap insurance service should take into consideration that your teenager will be driving his or her own car in the near future. At Non Owners Insurance NC a non-owner’s policy can later be converted into an owner policy. That way, no termination and new down payment will be required.